Back to Top
VTC International Development Office
Home > Non-local Students > Ask IDO > Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
(Mainland Chinese applicants please see here)

1) VTC and Member Institutions

Q: What is VTC?

A: Established in 1982, the statutory Vocational Training Council (VTC) is the largest vocational education, training and professional development group in Hong Kong. VTC provides valuable credentials for some 200 000 students each year through a full range of pre-employment and in-service programmes with internationally recognised qualifications.

Click HKSAR Government Website for details.

Q: What are Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi), Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (IVE), Hong Kong Design Institute (HKDI), International Culinary Institute (ICI) and School for Higher and Professional Education (SHAPE)? What is the relationship between them and VTC?

A: Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi)Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (IVE)Hong Kong Design Institute (HKDI), International Culinary Institute (ICI) and School for Higher and Professional Education (SHAPE) are the member institutions of VTC. Among them, THEi provides full time Degree programs while IVE, HKDI and ICI offer students different kinds of programmes at various levels, including Higher Diploma Programmes. In collaboration with well-recognised overseas and local universities, SHAPE offers top-up degree programmes for VTC's Higher Diploma graduates who wish to pursue further studies. 

Q: How many students are in VTC?

A:  In 2016/17, there are about 50,000 local and non-local students studying in VTC's full-time programmes.

Q: Does VTC offer Master degree programmes?

A:  VTC, in collaboration with WMG School for Professional Development, a multi-disciplinary academic department at the University of Warwick offers three master’s degree programmes in Hong Kong [Not applicable to Mainland , Macau and Taiwan residents] .

2) Definition of Non-local Applicant

Q: Definition of Non-local (International & Mainland China) Applicants

A: Non-Hong Kong residents who wish to enter Hong Kong for study are regarded as Non-local Applicants. According to immigration regulations of Hong Kong, any person other than those who have the right of abode or right to land in Hong Kong, must obtain a visa before coming to Hong Kong for the purpose of study. Persons who hold a valid student visa/entry permit, visa/entry permit under the Immigration Arrangements for Non-local Graduates (IANG) or dependent visa/entry permit who were 18 years old or above when they were issued with such visa/entry permit by the Hong Kong Immigration Department will be classified as Non‐local Applicants.

If you are not sure whether you need a study visa/entry permit to study in Hong Kong, please visit the website of the Hong Kong Immigration Department or click here.

3) Programme Information

Q: How many faculties and degree programmes are offered to non-local applicants by THEi?

A: There are 3 faculties offering more than 20 full-time Bachelor's Degree Programmes (normally to be completed in 4 years) to non-local applicants at THEi. 

For programme details please refer to “Programme Information and Application”. 

Q: How many disciplines and Higher Diploma programmes are offered to non-local applicants by IVE, HKDI and ICI?

A: The 6 disciplines of the full-time Higher Diploma Programmes (normally to be completed in 2 years) offered by IVE, HKDI and ICI that are applicable to international applicants include:
For programme details please refer to “Programme Information and Application”.

Q: What is the course duration?

A: Higher Diploma Programme: normally to be completed in 2 years.
Degree Programme: normally to be completed in 4 years.

Q: What is the medium of instruction in THEi, IVE, HKDI and ICI?

A: THEi 
The medium of instruction for degree programmes is English which may be supplemented with Chinese (normally Cantonese), as and when necessary.
IVE, HKDI and ICI
Except for programmes or modules of specific content, the medium of instruction for Higher Diploma programmes is English which may be supplemented with Chinese (normally Cantonese), as and when necessary.

4) Application Criteria

Q: What are the selection criteria for non-local students?

A: For details please see General Entrance Requirements.
 
Mature Applicant
  1. Applicants aged 25 or above on or before 1 September of that admission year and do not meet the entrance requirements for a Degree Programme.
  2. Applicants aged 21 or above on or before 1 September of that admission year and do not meet the entrance requirements for a Higher Diploma Programme.
  3. Applications from mature applicants will be considered on an individual basis. They must demonstrate sufficient motivation, knowledge, potential and ability to make it likely they would complete the programme successfully. Applicants will not have priority over other applicants, and only a limited number of places are offered to suitable mature applicants.
Please give relevant details in the section on supplementary information for Special Circumstances and upload copies of relevant documents via the “Web-based Admission System”.
Note: General entrance requirements are the minimum requirements for admission. Whether an eligible applicant may be admitted to a particular programme would be subject to the demand for and availability of study places. Applicants who wish to apply for programmes in the Design discipline may be required to submit copies of their work portfolios. Some programmes may have other specific requirements. For details, please click here.

Q: Can an applicant with post-secondary or above qualifications apply for the Degree programmes offered by THEi or Higher Diploma programmes offered by IVE, HKDI and ICI?

A: Yes. Applicants with post-secondary or above qualifications can apply if the general entry requirements and specific requirements (if any) have been attained. 

Q: Is a non-graduating secondary school student eligible to apply for study in THEi,IVE, HKDI and ICI?

A: Yes. He/She can apply if the general entrance requirements and specific requirements (if any) have been attained.

5) Application

Q: How to apply?

A: Non-local applicants can submit their applications online on or before the application deadline (late submission will not be accepted). Application submitted by post, fax or e-mail will not be accepted. To apply, please enter Web-based Admissions System.

Q: How will the institute contact me after my application has been submitted?

A: All important information will be sent to you via e-mail. You are required to provide a valid and frequently used e-mail address in Web-based Admissions System.
Please click Key Dates for details.
For any enquiries, please contact the International Development Office (IDO) directly:
Tel: (852) 2836 1705 / 2836 1784
Fax: (852) 2891 2372
E-mail: iss@vtc.edu.hk

Q: How do I know if I am being offered a place of study?

A: Offer results will be announced by e-mail.

Q: Will the institute arrange accommodation for me if I am being offered a place of study?

A: About 1,000 accommodation places are available at the VTC Halls of Residence in Pokfulam and Tsing Yi Island. Applications from non-local students will be considered with priority. For students who failed to reserve accommodation places or who intend to rent off-campus accommodation, we will provide apartment rental information and refer real estate agents to touch base with them.

Q: Will the institute assist me to apply for a Hong Kong study visa if I am being offered a place of study?

A: If applicants are being offered a place of study, VTC will assist them to apply for a Hong Kong Study Visa once the verification of the forms and documents required for visa application and the receipt of the remittance are confirmed.

Q: How can I know my study visa application is being processed? How long does it take?

A: VTC will notify applicants of the “Visa” application status via e-mail upon receiving their application materials and the proof of the remittance of the Registration and Administration Fees.

Normally the visa application takes about 6 weeks. VTC will send the Hong Kong Study Visa label by courier to the applicant’s mailing address once it is approved.

Applicants should not purchase air tickets or overland transportation tickets before receiving the Hong Kong Study Visa.

Q: Do I need to purchase any insurance before coming to Hong Kong if I am being offered a place of study?

A: Every student admitted will be insured under a basic health, accident and repatriation insurance package (Please click here for the insurance details). However, you may also purchase additional insurance coverage at your own expense. (Please note that this is not applicable to Exchange Programme students. Exchange Students have to purchase their own insurance.)

Q: If my application is not accepted this year, will it affect my future applications?

A: No. Applications are reviewed based on the information provided without any reference to the outcome of previous applications.

Q: Can I use public examination results of different years in my application?

A: Yes. Unless specified, applicants can use results from public examinations taken in different years in the application. The best grade for any subject of multiple attempts will be considered in the assessment for admission.

6) Fees

Q: How much are the tuition fees?

A: For Degree programme, the tuition fees ranges around HKD81,000 – HKD105,000 per year while the tuition fees for Higher Diploma programmes are around HKD57,000 per year.
Tuition fees are subject to annual reviews and will be determined taking into taking into account inflation, curriculum structure and other relevant factors.

In addition, accommodation fee at VTC Halls of Residence is around HKD25,000 per year while other living expenses (including food, transportation and miscellaneous expenses) are amount to around HKD 50,000 per year. 

Tuition fees are payable in two instalments per year. The first instalment of tuition fees should be settled by end of August while the second instalment should be settled in January next year. Detailed payment schedule will be advised by Campus Secretariat / Registry of the local campus. 

7) Articulation

Q: Are there any articulation pathways after graduating from my degree studies at THEi?

A: After graduation, students can apply for Master's programmes offered by Hong Kong and overseas universities, VTC and its member institutions in collaboration with overseas universities. Click here for details (Not applicable to Mainland students)

Q: What are the progression pathways for VTC Higher Diploma graduates?

A: To cater for the articulation needs of the VTC Higher Diploma graduates, SHAPE (a member institution of the VTC) offers full-time top-up degree programmes in collaboration with various local, Mainland and overseas universities (Not applicable to Mainland students). Some of the universities offering top-up degree programmes in collaboration with VTC in Hong Kong include :
 
  • The Open University of Hong Kong
  • Birmingham City University, UK
  • University of Northumbria at Newcastle, UK
  • Nottingham Trent University, UK
  • Sheffield Hallam University, UK
  • Coventry University, UK
  • University of the West of England, UK
  • University of Central Lancashire, UK
  • RMIT University, Australia
  • University of the Arts London, UK
  • University of Lincoln, UK
     
The Technological and Higher Education Institute of Hong Kong (THEi) is a member institution of the VTC. THEi  offers career-oriented bachelor degree programmes for non-local students. Its programmes feature a fine balance of theory, practice, general education and industry/profession-specific modules. It aims to develop caring, competent, creative and ethical professionals with an international outlook. The programmes include real-life projects and industrial attachments. THEi will admit Higher Diploma graduates with advanced standing. 

VTC Higher Diploma graduates can also apply for senior years entry of relevant bachelor's degree programmes offered by other Hong Kong or overseas universities / higher education institutes by eligible credit transfer or module exemption. 

8) Others

Q: Are the THEi degree qualifications well-recognised?

A: Yes, they are recognised at Level 5 under the Qualifications Framework, or “QF Level 5” (For details, please see below Qualification Framework level chart provided by Hong Kong Education Bureau. 

Note  : Applicants shall contact the appropriate official department in respect of the programme recognition in his/her own country/region.

Q: What is sub-degree? How is it different from Higher Diploma? Is the VTC Higher Diploma qualification well-recognised?

A: Sub-degree programmes include programmes leading to Higher Diploma, Associate Degree and Professional Diploma qualifications, and are regarded as higher education programmes. In general, the Higher Diploma puts more emphasis on professional knowledge and practical vocational skills while the Associate Degree focuses more on the liberal studies.

VTC Higher Diploma qualifications are recognised at Level 4 under the Qualifications Framework (or “QF Level 4”) and can be used as a basis for progressing to degree programmes. The Higher Diploma Programmes offered by IVE,HKDI and ICI are widely recognised by local and overseas universities that VTC graduates can generally apply for credit exemptions.
"Qualification Framework level chart"

Christian Louboutin Sneakers

Note  : Applicants shall contact the appropriate official department in respect of the programme recognition in his/her own country/region.

Q: When will school commence?

A: Normally the commencement date will be in early September every year.

Q: What kind of assistance can I receive to cope with living and studying in Hong Kong?

A: VTC offers a series of activities for non-local students to help them cope with their studies and daily life in Hong Kong. In particular, the Student Development Office provides a wide range of student development services including personal and career counseling, career development programmes, leadership training, sports and recreational activities. The Students' Union and other Societies also extend students' learning outside the classroom.

Q: Are non-local students eligible to apply for financial assistance?

A: Loan schemes, sponsorship and financial assistance provided by the Hong Kong SAR Government are not applicable to non-local students.

Q: Am I allowed to work during my study period in Hong Kong?

A: Under the Immigration Regulations, permission given to a person to land in Hong Kong as a student shall not take any employment, whether paid or unpaid. However, students of full-time locally-accredited programmes at undergraduate level (including THEi) whose study period is not less than one academic year may take up internships which are study/curriculum-related and be arranged or endorsed by the institution, subject to the current Hong Kong Immigration Department’s relevant conditions. As regards non-local students enrolled in full-time locally-accredited Higher Diploma local programmes (including IVE, HKDI and ICI) with a study period not less than two academic years, they may also apply to take up internships which are mandatory, study/curriculum-related and be arranged or endorsed by the institution, subject to current Hong Kong Immigration Department’s relevant conditions are met. 

Q: Are there any campus tours available in THEi, IVE, HKDI and ICI?

A: Yes, applicants and parents are very welcome to visit THEi, IVE, HKDI and ICI. Please submit your tour application at the following webpage.

Back to Top
VTC International Development Office
主页 > 非本地生 > 入学咨询服务 > 常见问题 (内地申请人适用)
常见问题 (内地申请人适用)

1) 关于香港职业训练局(VTC)及辖下院校成员

Q: 香港职业训练局(VTC)是什么性质的院校?

A:

香港职业训练局,英文全称为Vocational Training Council,简称VTC。VTC于1982年根据香港法例成立,是常设法定公营机构(性质类似于内地的“事业单位”)。经过三十多年的发展,VTC已经成为香港地区最具规模的专业教育培训及发展机构,每年为约20万名学生提供全面的职前和在职训练,颁发国际认可的学历资格。

查看香港特区政府网站上列出的香港职业训练局资料。

Q: 香港高等教育科技学院(THEi)、香港专业教育学院(IVE)、香港知专设计学院(HKDI)和国际厨艺学院(ICI) 是什么性质的院校?它们跟VTC是什么关系?

A: 香港高等教育科技学院(英文简称THEi)、香港专业教育学院(英文简称IVE)、香港知专设计学院(英文简称HKDI)和国际厨艺学院(英文简称ICI)是VTC的机构成员。其中,THEi为学生提供学士学位课程(即本科),IVE和HKDI主要为学生提供包括高级文凭课程在内的各类课程。

Q: VTC的学生人数是多少?

A: 2016/17年度,入读VTC全日制课程的本地及非本地学生合共约50, 000名。

Q: VTC有提供硕士课程吗?

A: ​ VTC与英国华威大学合作,在香港提供三项硕士学位课程 [内地、澳门及台湾居民不适用]

2) 非本地(国际与中国内地)申请人的定义

Q: 非本地(国际与中国内地)申请人的定义

A: 有意前来香港特区就读的非香港居民被视为“非本地申请人“。按照香港入境条例,凡没有香港特区居留权或入境权而拟来港求学的人士,都必须在来港前取得由香港特区政府入境事务处签发有效的学生签证/进入许可。凡持有有效的香港特区学生签证/进入许可ヽ非本地毕业生留港/回港就业安排(IANG)的签证/进入许可,或受养人签证/进入许可证(在获香港特区入境事务处签发受养人签证/进入许可证时已年满18岁)者,均定义为“非本地申请人”。

若你不确定自己是否需要学生签证来港就读,请查阅香港入境事务处网页或查看这里

3) 课程资料

Q: THEi共有多少个学院及学士学位课程可供非本地申请者报读?

A: THEi的3个学院提供超过20个全日制学士学位课程(一般4年完成)予内地学生申请报读。

有关各项课程资料请参阅《课程资料及入学申请》。

Q: IVE、HKDI及ICI有多少个学科及高级文凭课程可供非本地申请者报读?

A: 接受内地学生申请报读的IVE、HKDI及ICI全日制高级文凭课程(一般2年完成)中,共有下列6个学科的课程可供选择: 有关各项课程资料请参阅《课程资料及入学申请》。

Q: 课程修读期是多长时间?

A: 高级文凭课程:一般2年完成
学士学位课程:一般4年完成

Q: THEi、IVE、HKDI及ICI的授课语言是什么?

A: THEi 
THEi学位课程的授课语言一般为英语(辅以中文 [通常为粤语])。
IVE、HKDI及ICI
除特定课程或单元外,高级文凭课程的授课语言一般为英语(辅以中文 [通常为粤语])。

4) 申请资格

Q: 内地学生的入学申请资格是什么?

A: 申请人持内地学历
详情请见一般入学条件

申请人为年长生
  1. 于入学年度的9月1日或以前年满21岁但不符合入学学历要求的高级文凭课程申请人
  2. 于入学年度的9月1日或以前年满25岁但不符合入学学历要求的学士学位课程入学申请人
  3. 学院将个别考虑年长生的入学申请。申请人需要证明对课程有充份兴趣、能力与有关知识以使能顺利完成学业。申请并无优先权。分派予未符合入学条件年长生申请人的学额有限
请在「网上入学申请系统」具特殊情况的申请补充数据域填上有关资料,并上载工作证明等文件副本。
注意:一般入学条件是指课程的最低入学要求,合资格的申请人能否获录取须根据课程录取情况而定。报读设计学科课程的申请人可能需要递交个人作品副本。部分课程额外设有特定入学条件,详情请按此处

Q: 持有大专或以上学历的人士,可以申请入读THEi的学士学位课程、或IVE及HKDI的高级文凭课程吗?

A: 可以。持有大专或以上学历的人士,只要能符合「一般入学条件」及「特定入学条件」(如有),亦可以申请报读。

Q: 非应届全国统一高考生可以申请入读THEi、IVE、HKDI及ICI吗?

A: 可以。非应届全国统一高考生只要能符合「一般入学条件」及「特定入学条件」(如有),亦可以申请报读。

5) 入学申请

Q: 如何申请入学?

A: 内地申请者可在申请截止日期前(逾期申请恕不受理)于网上申请入读。如以邮递、传真或电邮方式递交,恕不受理。如需申请入学,请按此进入网上入学申请系统

Q: 递交申请后,院校将如何与我联系?

A: 所有重要资讯都将透过电子邮件发放给你,你须于网上入学申请系统提供有效及常用的电子邮件地址。
详情请按《重要日期》。
如有任何查询,请直接联络国际发展处:
电话:(852) 2836 1705 / 2836 1784
传真:(852) 2891 2372
电邮:iss@vtc.edu.hk

Q: 如何确认我经已被录取?

A: 若你获得录取,我们将通过电邮通知你录取结果。

Q: 如果被录取,院校是否会替我安排住宿?

A: 院校宿舍提供约1,000宿位供学生申请,非本地学生在港就读期间能获优先分配宿位。未能分配到宿位或计划在校外租房的学生,院校将会提供住宿资讯及协助学生与香港地产中介联络。

Q: 如果被录取,院校是否会替我办理香港学生签证?

A: 如获录取,院校会对你所递交的申领来港签证所需文件及汇款进行核对。经确认后,院校会协助你申请香港学生签证。

Q: 我如何知道我的学生签证申请正在处理? 签证申请需时多久?

A: 收到你递交的签证申请材料、留位费及行政费的汇款后,院校会透过电子邮件通知你「签证」的办理状态。

一般来说,签证申请审批需时6个星期。签证批准后,我们会把签证以快递邮寄到你所提供的地址。内地学生取得签证后,须自行向户口所属地公安局申请来港通行证及赴港签注。
学生在未收到「学生签证标签」前,请勿购买前往香港的机票或车票。

Q: 如果被录取,我需要在来港前自行购买保险吗?

A: 院校会替每位获取录的学生购买基本的医疗、意外及调送回国保险(请按此浏览保险详情)。然而,你亦可自费购买额外的保险。(请注意,此项安排并不适用于交流生。来港交流学生须自行购买足够且合适的保险。)

Q: 如我今年不被录取,会否影响将来的申请?

A: 申请的审核会根据所提交的资料作考虑,并不会参考过去的申请结果。

Q: 我可否以不同年度考获的公开试成绩报读课程?

A: 可以。就同一公开考试,除列明外,你可以用不同年度考获的成绩报读课程。若你曾在同一公开考试报考同一科目多次考获成绩,会以最佳成绩考虑。

6) 所需费用

Q: 修读期间所需的费用是多少?

A: 学士学位课程学费一年约港币8.1万至10.5万;而高级文凭课程学费一年约港币5.7万。学费水平每年均会根据通胀、课程架构及有关因素予以检讨。

此外,学生宿舍住宿费一年约港币2.5万;而其他生活费(包括伙食费、交通费和其他杂费)一年约港币5万。

学费每年分两期缴付,第一期学费须在8月底前缴付,而第二期学费须在翌年1月份缴付。详情请向你所在分校的学院秘书处或教务处查询。

7) 升学衔接

Q: 完成THEi学士学位课程后还有深造机会吗?

A: 非本地学生学士学位毕业后,可申请报读由VTC及其属下机构成员与海外大学合办的硕士课程(按此浏览详情)(不适用于内地申请人),亦可申请报读香港及海外大学开办的硕士课程。

Q: IVE及HKDI高级文凭毕业生有哪些升学途径?(内地申请人适用)

A: 高级文凭毕业生可申请香港高等教育科技学院(THEi)对口专业的三年级入学。香港高等教育科技学院(THEi)为VTC之机构成员,开办以专业为本的学士学位(本科)课程,供内地学生报读。课程理论和实用兼备,注重通识和行业在专门范畴的需要,藉此培育关怀社群、干练、具备创意、操守和国际视野的专业人才。THEi 提供的学士学位(本科)课程,内容包括个案研习和业界实习,提供衔接学位予副学位(包括高级文凭)毕业生。
 
高级文凭毕业生亦可申请其他香港或海外高等院校/大学修读相关的学士学位课程,有机会获学分豁免或学分转移,衔接入读高年级。

8) 其它问题

Q: 香港高等教育科技学院(THEi)的学士学位课程认可程度如何?

A: 中国教育部与香港特别行政区教育局就两地相互承认高等教育学位证书签定了《内地与香港关于相互承认高等教育学位证书的备忘录》,而香港高等教育科技学院(THEi)已被列入相互承认的香港高等学校名单内。详情请见香港教育局

注:申请人须自行向政府相关部门查询所报读的课程在其所属的国家/地区的认受情况。内地政府对境外院校所颁发学历的认可政策请查阅中国教育部的网站。

Q: 什么是副学位课程和高级文凭?VTC高级文凭的认受性如何?

A: 副学位课程 (Sub-Degree Programme) 是一个统称,它包含高级文凭 (Higher Diploma)丶副学士 (Associate Degree) 及专业文凭 (Professional Diploma) 课程。学历水平相当于内地大专程度。高级文凭和副学士均属专上教育课程,可兼备通识教育及职业导向的内容,即除了训练学生的一般技能和知识外,亦会提供专业学科知识和实用技能的训练。一般来说,香港专业教育学院ヽ香港知专设计学院及国际厨艺学院的高级文凭课程内容较着重专业知识及实务培训,而副学士课程会涵盖较多通识教育科目。

高级文凭属教育局资历架构第四级别,可衔接学士学位或以上程度的课程(详情请见以下由香港教育局提供的资历架构表)。VTC高级文凭学历由其辖下机构成员香港专业教育学院(IVE)、香港知专设计学院(HKDI)及国际厨艺学院(ICI)开办。而 VTC 课程已通过香港学术及职业资历评审局的学术范围评审,具高度质素保证。同时,IVE及HKDI 高级文凭课程获得本地及海外大学不同程度的认可或学分豁免。
"资历架构表"

Qualification Framework level chart

注:申请人须自行向政府相关部门查询所报读的课程在其所属的国家/地区的认受情况。内地政府对境外院校所颁发学历的认可政策请查阅中国教育部的网站。

Q: 什么时候开学?

A: 一般每年都会在9月初开学

Q: 请问有什么可帮助我在香港的学习和生活?

A: VTC会为学生提供一系列来港适应活动。与此同时,学生发展处亦提供多元化的学生发展服务,如个人及职业辅导服务丶事业发展活动丶领袖训练丶体育活动及兴趣班等。学生会及学生社团亦提供各种课外活。

Q: 非本地学生能否申请经济援助?

A: 香港特别行政区政府对本地学生的贷款计划、资助及经济援助并不适用于非本地学生。

Q: 我可否在就读期间工作?

A: 根据香港入境事务处现行条例,以学生身份来港的人士不得接受有薪或无薪的雇佣工作。不过,修读全日制经香港本地评审的学士学位课程 (包括THEi) 的内地学生,只要修业期不少于一个学年,可从事与学科╱课程有关,并经院校安排或批准的实习工作,但须符合入境事务处的有关条件。修读全日制经香港本地评审的本地高级文凭课程 (包括IVEヽHKDI及ICI) 的内地学生,只要修业期不少于两个学年,亦可申请从事强制性及与学科╱课程有关,并经院校安排或批准的实习工作,但须符合入境事务处的有关条件

Q: THEi、IVE、HKDI及ICI有没有举办校园参观活动?

A: 我们十分欢迎您和家人参观我们THEi、IVE、HKDI及ICI的校园。届时我们将接待学生及家长参观VTC下属院校的校园环境及教学设施。请在以下网页递交申请。